Nursing Home Administrator Training

Nursing Home Administrator Training

This Pennsylvania State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators-approved specialty program is designed to provide a knowledge core of education for those interested in pursuing a career in the long-term care administration field. The courses may also serve to satisfy State of Pennsylvania license renewal requirements.

Consisting of 16 courses, each 7.5 hours in length, the 120-hour program is taught by Penn State University faculty and area professionals. You may register for the entire program or choose to take individual courses as needed.

Entire Program

Times: Thursdays and Fridays, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Cost: Entire 120-hour program is $2,399

To register for the entire 120-hour Nursing Home Administrator course click here.

Individual Courses

Cost: $160 per course

Please contact our office at (724) 773-3700 if you would like to register for individual courses.

Course Spring 2019
Course Schedule
Administration, Organization and Management of the Long Term Care Facility Thursday, March 21
Gerontology, Diseases of Aging Friday, March 22
Fiscal Management, Budgeting, and Accounting Thursday, March 28
The Nursing Department and Resident Care Management Friday, March 29
Personnel Management and Labor Relations Thursday, April 4
Third Party Reimbursement Friday, April 5
Preparation for Licensure Certification Accreditation Surveys and Meeting Other Regulatory Requirements   Thursday, April 11
Understanding Regulations, Deficiencies, Plans of Corrections and Quality Assurance Friday, April 12
The Role of Government in Health Policy and Regulation Thursday, April 18
Risk Management Friday, April 19
Health Support Services Thursday, April 25
Dietary Department and Resident Care Friday, April 26
Facility Support Services: Building/Grounds, Housekeeping, Laundry and Central Supply Thursday, May 2
Social Services, Family and Community Relationships and Resident Rights Friday, May 3
Rehabilitation Services and Special Care Thursday, May 9
Strategic Planning, Marketing, and Public Relations Friday, May 10

Questions regarding PA licensure requirements should be directed to:

State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators
P. O. Box 2649
Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649
717-783-7155 (voice)
717-787-7769 (fax)
ST-NHA@PA.GOV

Please visit the state board page for information on the admissions requirements for this training.

For more information or to register by phone please call 724-773-3700.

Cancellations and Refunds

Payment is due upon registration. Registration cancellations with a full refund will be accepted until one week prior to the first class. After that, the individual may be held responsible for registration and fees. The University may cancel or postpone any course or activity because of insufficient enrollment or other unforeseen circumstances.