Students, faculty and staff honored at Beaver campus awards ceremony

MONACA, Pa. — It seemed somehow fitting that the two students honored with Penn State Beaver’s top academic awards were absent due to academic endeavors on the evening of the ceremony.

Alexa Di Pietrantonio, who was named Outstanding Student of the Year, is studying abroad in Vienna (and writing a blog about her experience for the campus website). And Eric A. & Josephine Walker Award winner Allison Crouse is in New Orleans, presenting — with Adult Achievement Award winner Nicole Long — at the International Academy of Business Disciplines conference.

The Walker Award is given to a student at each Commonwealth campus who “contributes to the prestige and well-being” of the community. 

Student Affairs Director Chris Rizzo illustrated just how well Crouse fits the criteria when he described her as the “student that other students go to” and someone who can always “be relied upon.”

Crouse, who graduates in May, has already accepted a job with the human resources department at PPG.

Here is the complete list of those honored at the campus' 49th annual Awards Ceremony:

Eric A. & Josephine Walker Award:

Allison Crouse

Penn State Beaver Outstanding Student of the Year:

Alexa Di Pietrantonio

Administration of Justice Baccalaureate Award:

Robert Chamberlain

Business Baccalaureate Award:

Allison Crouse

Communications Baccalaureate Award:

Brooke Doerfler

Information Sciences and Technology Baccalaureate Award:

Christy Abraham

Psychology Baccalaureate Award:

Alissa Ketterer

College of Earth and Mineral Sciences Department Award, Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering:

Paul Varner

College of Education Department Award, Secondary Education:

Samuel Poola

College of Engineering Department Award, Aerospace Engineering:

Joshua Shoup

College of Engineering Department Award, Mechanical Engineering:

Leah Berry

College of Engineering Department Award, Electrical Engineering:

Morgan Paul

College of Engineering Department Award, Computer Science: 

Keegan Harris

College of The Liberal Arts Department Award, English:

Lauren Osmanski

Eberly College of Science Department Award, Biology:

Kalyn Marksteiner

Eberly College of Science Department Award, Chemistry:

Andrea Blakemore

University College Department Award, Administration of Justice:

Jennifer Medarac

University College Department Award, Business, Marketing and Management:

Stacey Wallis

University College Department Award, Information Sciences and Technology, Systems Design and Development:

Alex Mammay

University College Department Award, Psychology:

Heather Bryant

President’s Freshman Awards:

Charles Hapich

Keegan Harris

Kenneth Sofranko

Katy Walcott

Student Life Leadership Awards:

Heather Bryant

Brenna Cepull

Allison Crouse

Amanda Leseman

Adam Martinez

Nicholas Pelino

Community Service Award:

Blue and White Society

Outstanding Club Advisor:

Cathy Benscoter

Outstanding Academic Advisor:

Stephanie Cabarcas-Petroski

Adult Achievement Award:

Nicole Long

Faculty Excellence in Teaching Awards:

Stephanie Cabarcas-Petroski

Thomas White

Faculty Excellence in Research Award:

Richard Lomotey

Faculty Excellence in Service Award

Angela Fishman

Staff Excellence Award:

Brenda Schultz

Staff Service Award:

Jill Bender

College Honors:

Brooke Doerfler

Campus Honors:

Andrea Blakemore

Jacob Bowser

Jordan DeVault

Jacob Goodlin

Brielle Hermstedt

Lauren Hudnall

Levi Johnson

Austin Koman

Mariah Mack

Kalyn Marksteiner

Jesse Osbourne

Lauren Osmanski

Samuel Poola

Elissa Sheets

Erica Sheets

Adele Smith

Katrina Stanley

Ilyssa Taylor

Ryan Terabasso

Tynetta Tull

Lucas Vankeuren

Katy Walcott

Aidan Weis

Paige Williams

Jacob Young


April Johnston

Public Relations Director, Penn State Beaver

Work Phone