Beaver honors students, staff and faculty at annual awards ceremony

Maura Francis wins Walker Award

Chris Rizzo, director of student affairs, presents the Walker Award to Penn State Beaver psychology major Maura Francis.

Credit: Penn State

Penn State Beaver senior psychology major Maura Francis won the top student honor at the campus’ 48th annual Awards Ceremony on Friday (April 15).

Francis, who has been accepted to the psychology graduate program at St. John’s University in New York, was chosen as the 2015-16 Eric A. & Josephine S. Walker Award winner.

Ziting Wang won Outstanding Student of the Year.

Each spring, the Beaver campus honors its outstanding students, staff and faculty for their work inside and outside of the classroom.

This year’s recipients are:

Baccalaureate Award in Administration of Justice: Ryan Zagorski
Baccalaureate Award in Business: Amy Arnold
Baccalaureate Award in Information Sciences and Technology: Tyler Frank
Baccalaureate Award in Psychology: Kylie Todd

College of Engineering, Aerospace Engineering Award: Timothy Fill
College of Engineering, Computer Science Award: Keegan Killen
College of Engineering, Mechanical Engineering Award: Drago Hurst

College of Health and Human Development, Hotel Management Award: Rebecca Dischman

College of The Liberal Arts, English Award: Zachary Pinkosky
College of The Liberal Arts, Sociology Award: Kristian Tienda-Langa
College of The Liberal Arts, Philosophy Award: Tara Kubik

Eberly College of Science, Biology Award: Sam Younes
Eberly College of Science, Chemistry Award: Taylor Carlin

Penn State Erie, The Behrend College, Computer Science Award: Samuel Williams

University College, Administration of Justice Award: Marco Graziani
University College, Business, Marketing and Management Award: Courtney Walker
University College, IST, Systems Design and Development Award: Derek Bozic
University College, Psychology Award: Jessica Findling

Honors Program, Campus Honors: Christy Abraham, Madison Becker, Leah Berry, Zachery Bonazza, Jordan Devault, Brooke Doerfler, Skyler Ferringer, Lauren Hudnall, Levi Johnson, Xi Lin, Sophia Loza, Megan Lysowski, Alyssa Marich, Kalyn Marksteiner, Jennifer Medarac, Candace Orellana, Jesse Osborne, Brianna Rice, Donovan Schmersal, Samual Sharpless, Katrina Stanley, Kristian Tienda-Langa, Lucas VanKeuren, Savanna Whalen, Nita Williams, Paige Williams

Honors Program, College Honors: Amy Arnold

President’s Freshman Award: Andrea Blakemore, Joseph Burchanowski, Paul Lutz Jr., Joseph Pry, Paul Varner, Mingyu Xue, Xiaoying Zhou

Student Life Leadership Awards: Alberto Araiza, Allison Crouse, Brianna D’Itri, Alissa Ketterer, Kaitlyn Work, Julie Worst

Community Service Award: Blue and White Society

Outstanding Club Advisor: Rachel Zughaib

Outstanding Academic Advisor: Mari Pierce

Adult Achievement Award: Robert Chamberlain

Advisory Board Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award: Leo Takahashi

Advisory Board Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award: Andrew Mayle

Advisory Board Faculty Excellence in Research Award: Mari Pierce

Advisory Board Faculty Excellence in Service Award: JoAnn Chirico

Advisory Board Staff Excellence Award: BJ Bertges

Advisory Board Staff Service Award: Kim Lawrence

Penn State Beaver Outstanding Student of the Year Award: Ziting Wang

2015-16 Eric A. & Josephine S. Walker Award: Maura Francis

Read more about Walker Award winner Maura Francis.


April Johnston

Public Relations Director, Penn State Beaver

Work Phone