Students, staff and faculty recognized at Penn State Beaver

Winners of annual Academic Awards announced
Joshua Hetzer, who has brown hair and a beard and is wearing a blue shirt, is pictured talking to a student during a campus activity.

Penn State Beaver Junior Joshua Hetzer is the recipient of the 2020 Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award. Hetzer was chosen as the winner because of his outstanding character and contributions to the campus.

Credit: Cathy Benscoter / Penn State Beaver

MONACA — Penn State Beaver has announced the Academic Award winners for the 2019-20 academic year.

Junior Joshua Hetzer, a business accounting major, is the recipient of the Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award, which recognizes Penn State students whose outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership and citizenship contribute to the prestige and well-being of their campus. 

The year’s outstanding student award went to senior psychology major Ashley Taylor.

“It is an honor to celebrate the students who are receiving academic awards,” Director of Academic Affairs Carey McDougall said. “Their dedication to academic achievement is outstanding, and we look forward to seeing their future successes, which I have no doubt will have a significant ripple effect on their communities. Congratulations! Penn State Beaver celebrates you.”

Here is the full list of 2020 winners:

Walker Award

Joshua Hetzer

Outstanding Student Award

Ashley Taylor

Baccalaureate Awards

  • Administration of Justice: Jacob Moldovan
  • Biology: Jonah Sally
  • Business: Kristi Behme
  • Communications: Anthony Pappas
  • Information Sciences and Technology: Natalia Slivkanich
  • Project and Supply Chain Management: Dan Uthman
  • Psychology: Katy Walcott

Department Awards

The Behrend College

  • Computer Science: Dmitri Gordienko

College of Engineering

  • Electrical Engineering: Raymond Luffy
  • Mechanical Engineering: Haozhe Zheng

University College

  • Administration of Justice: Natasha Norris
  • Biology: Emily Orlowski
  • Business: Joshua Hetzer
  • Communications: Jesse Jamery
  • Information Sciences and Technology: Patrick Byers
  • Project and Supply Chain Management: Emily Brown
  • Psychology: Destiny Cunic

President’s Freshman Award

  • Elleanna Farber
  • Ahnika Hay
  • Paige Niedbala
  • Cassadie Speed

Adult Student Award

Katy Walcott

Student Life Leadership Awards

  • Zelma Daye
  • Katy Walcott
  • Shane Cepull
  • Maria Slater
  • Diamond Thomas
  • Ian Tidwell-Carter

Community Service Award

Black Student Union – Ian Tidwell-Carter

Campus Honors Certificates

  • Kelly Gottschalk
  • Aimee Hill
  • Kristina Hogue
  • Cassidee Houser
  • Johnathan Orosz
  • liyah Peterson
  • Maria Slater
  • Rob Wahl
  • Bella Williams

College Honors Certificates

  • Siu-Len Navarro
  • Emily Orlowski
  • Jonah Sally
  • Alexey Stern
  • Katy Walcott

Outstanding Club Advisor Award

Dr. Chris Rizzo, Student Government Association

Academic Advisor Award

Karen Barr

Advisory Board Awards

  • Faculty Excellence in Teaching: Andrea Patrucco
  • Faculty Excellence in Research: Zhongyuan Che
  • Faculty Excellence in Service: Kristen Olson
  • Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching: Kristin Oberg
  • Staff Excellence: Beth Hewitt
  • Staff Service: Billie Brown