Nursing Home Administrator Training

Nursing Home Administrator Training

This Pennsylvania State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators-approved specialty program is designed to provide a knowledge core of education for those interested in pursuing a career in the long-term care administration field. The courses may also serve to satisfy State of Pennsylvania license renewal requirements.

Consisting of 16 courses, each 7.5 hours in length, the 120-hour program is taught by Penn State University faculty and area professionals. You may register for the entire program or choose to take individual courses as needed.

Entire Program

Times: Thursdays and Fridays, 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Cost: Entire 120-hour program is $2,349 *

Register for Nursing Home Administrator 120-hour Program, January 25 - March 16, 2018

Individual Courses

Cost: $150 per course *

Please contact our office at (724) 773-3700 if you would like to register for  individual courses.

Course Spring 2018 Late Spring 2018 Summer 2018
Course Schedule
Administration, Organization and Management of the Long Term Care Facility Thursday, January 25 Thursday, April 26 Thursday, July 26
Gerontology, Diseases of Aging Friday, January 26 Friday, April 27 Friday, July 27
Fiscal Management, Budgeting and Accounting Thursday, February 1 Thursday, May 3 Thursday, August 2
The Nursing Department and Resident Care Management Friday, February 2 Friday, May 4 Friday, August 3
Personnel Management and Labor Relations Thursday, February 8 Thursday, May 10 Thursday, August 9
Third Party Reimbursement Friday, February 9 Friday, May 11 Friday, August 10
Preparation for Licensure Certification Accreditation Surveys and Meeting Other Regulatory Requirements   Thursday, February 15 Thursday, May 17 Thursday, August 16
Understanding Regulations, Deficiencies, Plans of Corrections and Quality Assurance Friday, February 16 Friday, May 18 Friday, August 17
The Role of Government in Health Policy and Regulation Thursday, February 22 Thursday, May 24 Thursday, August 23
Risk Management Friday, February 23 Friday, May 25 Friday, August 24
Health Support Services Thursday, March 1 Thursday, May 31 Thursday, August 30
Dietary Department and Resident Care Friday, March 2 Friday, June 1 Friday, August 31
Facility Support Services: Building/Grounds, Housekeeping, Laundry and Central Supply Thursday, March 8 Thursday, June 7 Thursday, September 6
Social Services, Family and Community Relationships and Resident Rights Friday, March 9 Friday, June 8 Friday, September 7
Rehabilitation Services and Special Care Thursday, March 15 Thursday, June 14 Thursday, September 13
Strategic Planning, Marketing and Public Relations Friday, March 16 Friday, June 15 Friday, September 14

Questions regarding PA licensure requirements should be directed to:

State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators
P. O. Box 2649
Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649
717-783-7155 (voice)
717-787-7769 (fax)
ST-NHA@PA.GOV

Please visit the state board page for information on the admissions requirements for this training.

For more information or to register by phone please call 724-773-3700.

* Cancellations and Refunds

Payment is due upon registration. Registration cancellations with a full refund will be accepted until one week prior to the first class. After that, the individual may be held responsible for registration and fees. The University may cancel or postpone any course or activity because of insufficient enrollment or other unforeseen circumstances.