Nursing Home Administrator Training

Nursing Home Administrator Training

This Pennsylvania State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators-approved specialty program is designed to provide a knowledge core of education for those interested in pursuing a career in the long-term care administration field. The courses may also serve to satisfy State of Pennsylvania license renewal requirements.

Consisting of 16 courses, each 7.5 hours in length, the 120-hour program is taught by Penn State University faculty and area professionals. You may register for the entire program or choose to take individual courses as needed.

Fall 2017

Entire Program

Dates: Thursdays and Fridays, September 28 - November 17, 2017

Time: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Cost: Entire 120-hour program is $2349 *

Registration link coming soon!

Individual Courses

Cost: $150 per course *

Please contact our office at (724) 773-3700 if you would like to register for the following individual courses.

Administration, Organization and Management of the Long Term Care Facility

Thursday, September 28

Gerontology, Diseases of Aging

Friday, September 29

The Role of Government in Health Policy and Regulation

Thursday, October 5

Fiscal Management, Budgeting and Accounting

Friday, October 6

Personnel Management and Labor Relations

Thursday, October 12

Third Party Reimbursement

Friday, October 13

Preparation for Licensure Certification Accreditation Surveys and Meeting Other Regulatory Requirements

Thursday, October 19

Understanding Regulations, Deficiencies, Plans of Corrections and Quality Assurance

Friday, October 20

The Nursing Department and Resident Care Management

Thursday, October 26

Rehabilitation Services and Special Care

Friday, October 27

Health Support Services

Thursday, November 2

Facility Support Services: Building/Grounds, Housekeeping, Laundry and Central Supply

Friday, November 3

Dietary Department and Resident Care

Thursday, November 9

Social Services, Family and Community Relationships and Resident Rights

Friday, November 10

Risk Management

Thursday, November 16

Strategic Planning, Marketing and Public Relations

Friday, November 17

 

Questions regarding PA licensure requirements should be directed to:

State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators
P. O. Box 2649
Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649
717-783-7155 (voice)
717-787-7769 (fax)
ST-NHA@PA.GOV

Please visit the state board page for information on the admissions requirements for this training.

* Cancellations and Refunds

Payment is due upon registration. Registration cancellations with a full refund will be accepted until one week prior to the first class. After that, the individual may be held responsible for registration and fees. The University may cancel or postpone any course or activity because of insufficient enrollment or other unforeseen circumstances.